top of page

Dan Kinzelman 'Unfall'
formerly 'Dan Kinzelman's Ghost'

Mirco Rubegni - Trumpet, Horn, Percussion

Manuele Morbidini - Alto Sax, Percussion

Dan Kinzelman - Tenor Sax, Clarinet, Flute, Percussion

Rossano Emili - Baritone Sax, Bass Clarinet, Percussion

The lack of pure raw materials forces us to reclaim scraps generated in past years of work. We believe that through such a creative effort it is possible to obtain objects of particular beauty and utility, by pointed decontextualization or contrasting elements seemingly lacking connection. Their original functions are thus transformed with constructive urgency into something different: structures of improbable and unstable appearance; fantastical imaginary toys.

"Ghost is a truly avant-garde project. They play dark chamber music from your nightmares and bright improvisations of joy. Sometimes the scary massed horns reminded you of John Coltrane's Ascension (Impulse, 1966). More often they organized themselves in twos and threes, juxtaposing stark experiments. There were even interludes like an actual muted trumpet solo over a tight three-horn riff. The fact that Ghost could have become a train wreck at any moment but instead sought new forms of coherence placed their music on a knife-edge of invigorating creative uncertainty. " - Thomas Conrad, JazzTimes, Stereophile

bottom of page